Skip to main content

Who’s Moving April 2017

By 30 March 2017June 24th, 2021Who's Moving | Knowledge Page
Whos Moving

Who’s Moving April 2017 tracks who has moved careers in the healthcare, academic and life sciences sectors globally.

Ms Jade Phelan is now State Managing Director for Virtus Health, she was previously Executive Projects Manager – Hospitals VIC/TAS at Healthscope Operations Limited. Whos Moving April 2017

Ms Sue Shilbury has been appointed as CEO of Austin Health, leaving her position at KPMG as Director of Health and Human Services.

Professor Garry Jennings is now Executive Director of Sydney Health Partners moving from Melbourne where he held positions at the Baker IDI and National Heart Foundation.

Mr Wayne Gadd has moved within SA Health from Director, Strategic Support Unit to Southern Adelaide Local Health Network as the new Chief Finance Officer

Mr David Morris has stepped up to become the new Chief Operating Officer of Southern Adelaide Local Health Network from his previous role as Executive Director of Nursing.

Professor Dawn Freshwater has been appointed the new Vice Chancellor of the University of Western Australia where she has been acting in the position as well as Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor & Registrar.

University of Oxford has appointed Professor Alastair Buchan, currently Head of the Medical Sciences Division, as Pro-Vice Chancellor – Head of Brexit Strategy. Professor Buchan will take up his new position on January 20, 2017.

Newcastle University has appointed Professor Allyson Pollock as the Director of the Institute of Health & Society. Professor Pollock joins the Insttiute in January 2017, having formerly been professor of public health research and policy at Queen Mary, University of London.

Professor Julie Mennell has been appointed as the new Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cumbria. Professor Mennell comes from the University of Sunderland, where she was Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

Staffordshire University have appointed Professor Martin Jones as Deputy Vice-Chancellor. Professor Jones is currently working as Director of White Rose Social Science Doctoral Training Centre and Professor of Human Geography at the University of Sheffield.  He will start with the University on 1st May 2017.

The University of Southampton and the John Hansard Gallery have announced that Woodrow Kernohan, Director and CEO of EVA International will succeed Professor Stephen Foster as Director of the John Hansard Gallery.

The University of Manchester’s Innovation Company, UMI3 Ltd, has announced the appointment of Dr Luke Hakes as its new independent Chairman. Dr Hakes is currently Investment Director at venture capital firm, Octopus Ventures, and takes up his new role on 1 January 2017.

Professor Ieuan Ellis has been appointed as Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships & Region) of Staffordshire University.  Professor Ellis took up his new appointment on 3rd January 2017. He previously worked as Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Dean of the Faculty of Health and Social Sciences at Leeds Beckett University.

Professor Stella Bruzzi has been appointed as the new Dean of Arts & Humanities at University College London and will take up her position on the 24th of April. Professor Bruzzi is currently Professor of Film & Television Studies at the University of Warwick.

The University of Wolverhampton has appointed a new Head of Research Services. Clare McCauley is currently the interim University Secretary at Wolverhampton and begins her new role in January.

Staffordshire University has appointed Sue Reece as Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience). Sue has been working as an Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Staffordshire University for the last few months and has previously worked as Pro-Vice-Chancellor at York St John University.

Mr Rob Fekete has been appointed as Chief Financial Officer at Staffordshire University. Rob is currently the Director of Finance at Aston University. Rob will start with the University on Monday 20th March 2017.

Newcastle University has appointed internationally renowned research expert and economist Professor Daniel Zizzo as the new acting Head of Newcastle University Business School.

University of Plymouth has announced the appointment of Professor Simon Payne as Deputy V-C for International & Planning. Professor Payne has held key senior leadership roles within the University since 2004, most recently as Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

Professor Elizabeth Treasure, currently the Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Cardiff University is moving to Aberystwyth University as the new Vice-Chancellor in April 2017.

Professor Andrew Neely has been promoted at the University of Cambridge, taking up the new position of Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Enterprise and Business Relations. Professor Neely has most recently been the Head of the Institute for Manufacturing and the Manufacturing and Management Division of the Engineering Department.

Professor Colin Dayan returns to the University of Bristol in a joint role linking his current post at Cardiff University with a new appointment as Professor of Diabetes and Endocrinology at the University of Bristol.

Professor Stuart Carney has been appointed as Deputy Executive Dean and Medical Dean in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Queensland. Professor Carney was previously Dean of Medical Education and Vice Dean International in the Faculty of Life Sciences and Medicine at King’s College London.

Somerville College, University of Oxford, has announced the election of Baroness Royall of Blaisdon as their next Principal, in succession to Dr Alica Prochaska, who will step down at the end of August 2017. Jan Royall has had a distinguished career in politics, notably becoming Chief Whip on the Lords, appointed to the Privy Council and in 2008 became Leader of Lords and a member of cabinet.

Professor Karen Holford, current the Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the College of Physical Sciences and Engineering at Cardiff University, will take up the new post of Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University.

Mr Mark Booth who has been the First Assistant Secretary at the Australian Government Department of Health for the last six years, is moving to Food Standards Australia and New Zealand as the new Chief Executive Officer.

Ms Peggy North has joined Monash IVF as their Group Human Resources Manager – a newly created position. Peggy comes from an FMCG background and has previously held senior HR roles at Kärcher Australia, Patties Foods and Mars.

Professor Eva Segelov has joined Monash Health / Monash University as a Professor Director of Medical Oncology. Eva was previously the Associate Professor of Medicine at UNSW and Senior Specialist in Medical Oncology at St Vincent’s Hospital and St Vincent’s Private Hospital in Darlinghurst NSW.

Professor Tony Travaglione has taken up the position of Pro Vice-Chancellor & Executive Dean at the University of Newcastle, Faculty of Business and Law leaving his position at Curtin University where he was the Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Business.

Professor Michael Parker is the new Director at the Bio21 Cluster. When he takes up this new position, he will also continue as the Head of Structural Biology Unit at the St Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research.

Professor Darrell Evans current the Vice-Provost (Learning and Teaching) at Monash University is moving to the University of Newcastle, Australia as the new PVC Academic.

Professor Anton Middleberg is leaving his position at the University of Queensland as PVC Research and International will be joining the University of Adelaide in July as the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Computer, and Mathematical Sciences.

Liked Whos Moving April 2017? Catch up on our previous Who’s Moving articles here.

Whos Moving April 2017

Leave a Reply