Skip to main content

Who’s Moving December 2016

By 29 November 2016November 20th, 2020Who's Moving | Knowledge Page
Whos Moving

Whos Moving December 2016

Cardiff University’s School of Modern Languages has recently appointed its former Director of Research as the new Head of School, Professor Rachael Langford.

The Cancer Council NSW has recently appointed a Senior Research Fellow, Health Economist – Dr Leenert Veerman. Dr Veerman will finish the year leading the Burden of Disease and Cost-Effectiveness unit at The University of Queensland’s School of Public Health.

The Chris O’Brien Lifehouse has recently appointed a Business Development Manager in Ms Shirin Amirbeaggi. Shirin was previously the NSW/ACT Business Development Manager for PersonalEyes Pty Ltd.

Ms Michelle Somlyay has joined UnitingCare Health as the Director of Patient Revenue & Health Fund Relations, moving across from St Vincent’s Health Australia where she was most recently the Director of Clinical Governance and Strategy.

Dr Vivek Nigam has recently joined Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District as their Executive Director of Medical Services.  Vivek previously held the DMS role at Central Coast LHD.

Ms Helen King has been appointed as the next Principal of St Anne’s College at the University of Oxford. She is currently Assistant Commissioner for Professionalism with the Metropolitan Police and will start in her new role on 24 April 2017.

Ms Elizabeth Curran has been appointed as the new Executive Director, Operations for Northern Sydney Local Health District.  Elizabeth’s international background includes experience with Booz & Co Consulting, Clinton Health Access Initiative, the United Nations, and most recently as Director of Deloitte where she has been seconded full-time as the Executive Director of Performance for Central Adelaide LHN. She specialises in large scale health systems strategy, performance, management and transformation.

Ms Robyn Kruk AM has been appointed the new Chair of the Board of Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ), she has been Director-General of the NSW Ministry of Health and Chair of Ambulance Service of NSW.

Mr Brett Bricknell has commenced his new position as Executive Director, Royal Melbourne Hospital. Most recently Mr Bricknell has been the Executive Director of the Logan Bayside Health Network at Metro South Hospital and Health Service.

Federation University Australia’s Professor Caroline Finch has been appointed the University’s inaugural Executive Dean of Graduate Studies. Professor Finch has been the Robert HT Smith Emeritus Professor at FedUni since 2013 and Director at the Australian Collaboration for Research into Injury in Sport and its Prevention (ACRISP) research centre.

Professor Richard Larkins AO has been named as the seventh Chancellor of La Trobe University beginning his term 26 February 2017. Professor Larkins was Vice-Chancellor of Monash University between 2003 and 2009. He had earlier served as Dean of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne.

The Rt Hon. The Baroness Ashton of Upholland will commence 1st January 2017 as the Chancellor of the University of Warwick succeeding Sir Richard Lambert.

Professor Karen Strickland will be taking up a joint appointment with the University of Canberra and ACT Health as Chair of Nursing in February 2017. Karen will be relocating from Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, Scotland where she has been the Associate Head of the School of Nursing & Midwifery

Professor Emma Johnston, currently the Pro Vice-Chancellor Research at the University of New South Wales will take up the role of Dean of Science in May 2017.

Professor Robert Pike currently the Head of School of Molecular Sciences at La Trobe University has been promoted to take up the position of Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the College of Science, Health and Engineering.

Professor Simone Buitendijk joined Imperial College London in September as Vice-Provost (Education), having moved from the Netherlands where she performed a similar role at Leiden University as Vice-Rector Magnificus, with responsibility for education and student affairs.

King’s College London was awarded the first-ever Regius Professorship of Psychiatry and Professor Sir Simon Wessely will be taking up this prestigious role from 1 February 2017. Sir Simon trained at the Maudsley and is now Chair of Psychological Medicine at the IoPPN, Co-Director of the King’s Centre for Military Health Research and President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

Dr Gary Baxter has been appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Edinburgh Research & Innovation (ERI), where he will spearhead commercialisation activity at the University of Edinburgh. Dr Baxter joins from the University of Nottingham, where he was Director of Research and Enterprise and Director of Business and Engagement Services.

Professor Stephen Toope has been appointed as the next Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge. Professor Toope, who is currently Director of the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs and formerly served as president and vice-chancellor of the University of British Columbia, will take over from Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz on 1 October 2017.

Professor Sir Tim Berners-Lee, the inventor of the World Wide Web, is to join the Department of Computer Science at the University of Oxford as a professor. Sir Tim is also a full-time professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA, where he is based, and where he leads the Decentralized Information Group research.

‘Great British Menu’ star and entrepreneur, Prue Leith, appointed as new Chancellor of Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh. Prue will take over the role of Chancellor from entrepreneur, Sir Tom Farmer, who was installed as the University’s founding Chancellor in 2007 when the institution was awarded University title.

Westminster Business School has appointed Professor Malcolm Kirkup as its new Dean. Professor Kirkup joins Westminster Business School from the University of Edinburgh Business School where he was Professorial Director of MBA Programmes and Director of Educational Innovation.

Queen Margaret University (QMU), Edinburgh has appointed Dr Richard Butt as its new Deputy Principal. Formerly Dean of the School of Arts, Social Sciences and Management at QMU, Dr Butt has over twenty years higher education experience, including Head of Division for Media, Communication and Performing Arts at QMU.

Professor Chris Husbands, Vice-Chancellor of Sheffield Hallam University has been named as the first Chair of the Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) panel following a recruitment process led by the government. He has already started in the role and will be in the position for two years.

Ms Bernadette Eather formerly the National Director of Health, Human Services and Ageing at KPMG Australia has moved to the Clinical Excellence Commission in NSW as Director of Patient Safety.

Professor Una Macleod has been appointed as the new Dean of Hull York Medical School and will take up this role in January 2017. Professor Macleod, currently Professor of Primary Care and Deputy Dean, has been at Hull York Medical School since 2010.

Professor Sally Shortall takes up the key post of Duke of Northumberland Professor of Rural Economy at Newcastle University. Professor Shortall comes to Newcastle University from Queen’s University Belfast, where she was Head of the School of Sociology, Social Policy and Social Work.

Following Ms Elizabeth Alexander’s 6 years as Chancellor, Mr Allan Myers will take over as Chancellor of the University of Melbourne on 1 January 2017.

For more Whos Moving head over to our knowledge page here.

Leave a Reply