Who’s Moving October 2016

By 28 September 2016September 9th, 2020Who's Moving | Knowledge Page
Whos Moving

Who’s Moving October 2016 tracks who has moved careers in the healthcare, academic and life sciences sectors globally.

Following Professor Christopher Baggoley’s retirement from the Department of Health as Chief Medical Officer, Dr Brendan Murphy currently the CEO of Austin Health will start as Australia’s new Chief Medical Officer in October. Whos Moving October 2016

Ms Sherri Watkins the Sales, Marketing and Business Development Manager for Epworth Healthcare is moving to Fujitsu to lead their penetration into the Health Sector Market.

Professor David Arthur is about to take up his new position as Dean of Nursing and Midwifery at the Aga Khan University in Karachi. He leaves behind his post at Charles Darwin University in NT.

Mr Tim Kelsey, previously working for NHS England and Telstra Health is the new inaugural CEO of the Australian Digital Health Agency.

Professor Chris Day who is currently the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for the Faculty of Medical Sciences at Newcastle University is going to take up the role of Vice-Chancellor of Newcastle University in January 2017.

Mr Tobi Wilson the Chief Operating Officer at Southern Adelaide Local Health Network is moving to NSW to take over as General Manager of the Prince of Wales Hospital at the end of September.

Professor Andrew Parfitt, currently the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at the University of Newcastle will be moving to the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) as the new Provost and Senior Vice President.

Ms Susan Gannon is moving from the Gold Coast to become the new Executive Director of Nursing and Allied Health at Tasmania Health. She returns to her home state after many years in Queensland.

Professor Jan van Driel will join the University of Melbourne Graduate School of Education this September as the inaugural Professor of Science Education leaving his position as Professor of Science Education and Director of the Leiden University Graduate School of Teaching in The Netherlands.

Dr Neil Fassina is leaving his position as Provost and Vice President Academic at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology to become the 8th President of Athabasca University.

Ms Joanne Shoveller is moving to the University of Windsor as Vice-President, Advancement on January 1, 2017.  She is currently the Associate Dean, Advancement and Alumni Relations at INSEAD, The Business School for the World.

Dr Frank Harvey, currently a professor in the Department of Political Science at Dalhousie University is moving to the position of Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at Dalhousie.

Dr Alice Aitkin is the new Dean of the Faculty of Health Professionals at Dalhousie University moving from her position as Scientific Director of the Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research.

Professor Joseli Macedo leaving her position as Chair of the Department of Urban and Regional Planning; and Director of the Center for International Design and Planning and Faculty Affiliate in both the Center for Latin American Studies and the School of Natural Resources and the Environment at the University of Florida is the new Head of School of the Built Environment at Curtin University.

Mr Jon Sopel a journalist and broadcaster has been appointed to the University of Southampton as Pro-Chancellor, to deputise for the Chancellor, Dame Helen Alexander, presiding over graduation ceremonies and playing an active role in the future development of the University.

Ms Cheryl Clayton is leaving her position as Director of Nursing and Midwifery at the Mater Private Hospital to become the Director of Nursing at The Wesley Private Hospital.

Ms Caroline Davis is stepping into the role of inaugural Vice-Principal (Facilities, Properties, and Sustainability) from her role as Vice-Principal (Finance & Administration) at Queen’s University. Moving into the role of Vice Principal (Finance & Administration) is Ms Donna Janiec who has been Associate Vice-Principal (finance) since 2009. Prior to that appointment, she held various positions in the Faculty of Arts and Science, the Office of the Vice-Principal (Academic), and Risk Management and Audit Services.

Dr Peggy Brown former Director-General of ACT Health is to take up the role of CEO of the National Mental Health Commission. Dr Brown is replacing Mr David Butt who is moving to the role of CEO at the National Rural Health Alliance.

Mr Sao Bui-Van is joining Kings College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust as the new Communications Director leaving his position at the British Research Council where he was in charge of the global communications programme.

Professor Alec Cameron will succeed Julia King OBE the Baroness Brown of Cambridge, as Vice-Chancellor of Aston University. Professor Cameron moves from the University of Western Australia and takes up his appointment in September this year.

Professor Helena Liira has been appointed Director of Primary Care Education at Hull York Medical School. Professor Liira is currently Head of the School of Primary, Aboriginal & Rural Health Care at the University of Western Australia and will take up her new position at the beginning of 2017.

Mrs Meredith Parry is leaving her role as COO at Unitec Institute of Technology in Auckland to take up the newly created role of Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President Operations at Charles Darwin University.

Professor Mark Gabbott is leaving his position as Dean of the Faculty of Business & Economics at Macquarie University to join the University of Adelaide a the new Dean of the Adelaide Business School.

Ms Kate Goodwin is concluding her Director of Nursing role at Lake Macquarie Private Hospital and taking up the CEO/DON role at St Vincent’s Private Hospital, Werribee.  Ms Goodwin will lead the commissioning of this high profile new build hospital, and lead its future growth and development.

After 8 years in senior leadership roles with Calvary Health Care, Mr Shaune Gillespie is relocating to Melbourne to take on the dual CEO role for St Vincent’s Private Hospitals in East Melbourne and Kew.

Dr Vivek Nigam is leaving his role as Director of Medical Services of the Central Coast LHD and joining Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District as their new Executive Director of Medical Services.

Ms Carla Gil Rankin joins Central Queensland Hospital and Health Service as General Manager for the Central Highlands Region, based from Emerald.  Carla brings a strong clinical leadership background gained from the public health sector as well as having held several broader non-health roles within local and regional government organisations.

Durham University has appointed Owen Adams OBE as the new Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Colleges and Student Experience) of Durham University. Owen, who is currently Commander at the Royal School of Artillery, British Army, will take up his position at Durham on 5 January 2017. He succeeds Professor Graham Towl, who stood down at the end of August to pursue his academic career.

Hull York Medical School has appointed Dr Martin Veysey at the new Director of Problem Based Learning. Dr Veysey, who is currently Clinical Dean in the Faculty of Health at University of Newcastle, Australia, will join Hull York Medical School in February 2017.

Professor Stephen Toope has been nominated as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge. Subject to the approval of the Regent House, the University’s governing body, Professor Toope will take over from Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz on 1 October 2017. Professor Toope is currently Director of the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs and formerly served as president and vice-chancellor of the University of British Columbia. Whos Moving October 2016

Liked Whos Moving October 2016? Catch up on our previous Who’s Moving articles here.

Whos Moving October 2016

Leave a Reply